Blue Star vs Voltas AC: Which Should You Actually Buy?

By Samiya

Disclosure: HomeVerdicts aggregates published manufacturer specifications, published government documents and published retail listings. We do not test products in a lab. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links; if you buy through one we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The models shown are examples from each brand’s range, not a recommendation of one over the other. Our method is published at how we research.
VS

Prices and ratings in the boxes above are Amazon selling prices read on 8 Nov 2026, rounded to the nearest ₹100. Models are the most-rated ones for each brand, shown as examples, not a ranking. Prices quoted in the text below are from the dates given beside them and may differ from today’s Amazon price.


If you are comparing a Blue Star vs Voltas AC, compare model against model. This page sets four matched pairs side by side, 1.5 ton and 1 ton, 5-star and 3-star, from Blue Star’s Z series and Voltas’s app-operated Vertis AI Zest Gold line. The four Blue Star pages and Voltas’s 185INV label state the 2026 BEE label; for the other three Voltas models this page gives no label period. Facts come from each maker’s own product pages, warranty terms and rate cards, read 30 September 2026, with Amazon.in listings as the second source. Where a figure appears only on Amazon.in, we say so. Differences between figures are our arithmetic.


The short answer. Neither brand wins every row. In the 1.5 ton 5-star pair, Voltas prints the higher ISEER (5.70 against 5.63) and publishes its annual energy figure itself; Blue Star states the higher maximum ambient (54 °C against 52 °C) and publishes far more of its spec sheet.

  • Choose Blue Star if you want the fuller spec sheet from the maker, or a 1 ton model: on the makers’ own stores, both Blue Star 1 ton models listed below their Voltas pairs on 30 September 2026.
  • Choose Voltas if you want the higher 1.5 ton 5-star ISEER, free standard installation on voltas.com purchases, or the lower Amazon.in price on the 1.5 ton 5-star pair on 30 September 2026.

Blue Star vs Voltas AC, 1.5 ton 5-star: the spec table

Blue Star IA518ZXUS Voltas 185INV Vertis AI Zest Gold
Rated cooling capacity 5,100 W (range 2,175 to 5,468 W) 5,050 W
Maker’s tonnage wording “1.45 (~1.5)” in the product title “1.5 Ton”
ISEER 5.63 5.70
Annual energy 701.68 units a year, per the Amazon listing (not on Blue Star’s page) 686.22 units a year (Voltas 2026 catalogue; Amazon agrees)
Compressor Inverter Rotary, acoustic jacket “Variable Speed” on the BEE label in Voltas’s catalogue; acoustic jacket
Refrigerant R32, 0.93 kg R32 per the Amazon listing; not on Voltas’s pages we read
Condenser 100% copper 100% copper
Stated maximum ambient 54 °C 52 °C
Indoor noise Not on Blue Star’s page; 45 dB per the Amazon listing About 28 dB(A) in Super Silent mode, a series-level catalogue figure, not a model spec; 46 dB per the Amazon listing
Outdoor noise 54 dBA Not on Voltas’s pages we read
Rated power input 1,227 W, 5.4 A Not on Voltas’s pages we read
App “Smart Wi-Fi AC with Smart App” “Voltas Intelligence App Operated”
Offer price, maker store, 30 September 2026 (rounded) About ₹49,000 About ₹49,500
Offer price, Amazon.in, 30 September 2026 (rounded) About ₹47,500 About ₹44,800

Sources: Blue Star’s IA518ZXUS page, Voltas’s 185INV page and 2026 range catalogue, and each model’s Amazon.in listing, all read 30 September 2026.

The Amazon.in listing for the 185INV carries a bullet reading “Energy Rating: 3 Star”, while its title and Voltas say 5 star. We go with the maker.

Running cost of the gap. The two labels differ by 15.46 kWh a year (our arithmetic), and the Blue Star figure comes from Amazon.in, not Blue Star. At Maharashtra’s ₹12.40 per kWh residential slab (MSEDCL, 101 to 300 units, FY 2026-27, excluding fixed charge and duty), that is about ₹192 a year (our arithmetic), on BEE’s basis of 1,600 cooling hours a year, a yardstick rather than your bill.

The other three pairs: 1.5 ton 3-star and 1 ton

Model Class Capacity ISEER Annual energy, units Rated input Maker store offer, 30 Sep 2026 (rounded) Amazon.in offer, 30 Sep 2026 (rounded)
Blue Star IA318ZXUS 1.5 T 3-star 5,200 W 4.38 918.45, per the Amazon listing 1,575 W About ₹39,000 About ₹37,500
Voltas 183INV 1.5 T 3-star 5,100 W Not found Not found Not found About ₹38,000 Listing could not be read
Blue Star IA512ZXUS 1 T 5-star 3,600 W 5.63 495.16, per the Amazon listing 815 W About ₹39,000 About ₹38,000
Voltas 125INV 1 T 5-star 3,450 W 5.60, per the Amazon listing 470.35, per the Amazon listing Not found About ₹42,000 About ₹39,000
Blue Star IA312ZXU 1 T 3-star 3,517 W 4.38 621.10, per the Amazon listing 1,060 W About ₹33,500 No offer shown
Voltas 123INV 1 T 3-star 3,350 W 4.30, per the Amazon listing 602.41, per the Amazon listing Not found About ₹36,000 About ₹32,000

“Not found” means not on Voltas’s product page or 2026 catalogue. The 183INV’s Amazon.in page would not load for us on any attempt, so this page has no ISEER or energy figure for it from any source. The IA312ZXU listing had no buy-box offer on 30 September 2026.

Two notes. Amazon.in lists the IA512ZXUS at “12276 (5985~12304) Watt”, which is a BTU-scale number labelled watts; Blue Star’s 3,600 W is the figure to use. And the IA312ZXU is Blue Star’s Z series, not the Z Smart Wi-Fi variant, while the Voltas 123INV is app-operated.

Stated maximum ambient is 52 °C for all six except the IA512ZXUS, at 54 °C. Every model here has a 100% copper condenser.

Blue Star’s T series. Blue Star’s IA518TXU, IA318TXU, IA512TXU and IA312TXU pages print the same values as the matching Z-series pages for every performance, electrical, dimension, weight, pipe and warranty entry both publish. The differences are the tonnage wording (“1.5 Tr” for the IA518TXU), colour, and outdoor noise: the IA512TXU prints 53 dBA; the IA512ZXUS prints none. Blue Star’s store listed them at about ₹48,000, ₹37,000, ₹40,000 and ₹35,000 respectively on 30 September 2026.

Who publishes more

This is a documentation difference, not a quality verdict. For the IA518ZXUS, Blue Star’s product page prints rated input (1,227 W, and 398 W at 50% load), current (5.4 A), refrigerant charge (0.93 kg), moisture removal (1.62 litres an hour), outdoor noise (54 dBA), and indoor and outdoor unit dimensions and weights (13 kg and 27.1 kg). For all four Vertis AI Zest Gold models, Voltas’s product pages print none of those, and the catalogue gives a BEE label for the 185INV only. Several Voltas figures in our tables therefore come from Amazon.in alone.

It cuts the other way on two rows: Blue Star’s own pages carry no annual energy figure and no indoor noise figure for these models, while Voltas’s catalogue prints the 185INV’s 686.22 units a year.

The 2026 star bands both makers publish

Split AC ISEER, 1 Jan 2026 to 31 Dec 2027 1-star 2-star 3-star 4-star 5-star
As reproduced by Blue Star and Voltas 3.5 to 3.79 3.8 to 4.29 4.3 to 4.99 5.0 to 5.59 5.6 and above

This is the two makers’ reproduction of the bands, not the BEE notification itself, which we have not read. Every ISEER in our tables sits inside its model’s stated band; the Voltas 125INV’s 5.60 (per the Amazon listing) sits exactly on the 5-star floor. For what a star is worth in rupees, see 5 star vs 3 star AC.

Ready to see today’s prices?Prices change daily. Both brands, one tap each.

Blue Star vs Voltas AC warranty, read exactly

Blue Star Voltas
Product warranty “Standard Warranty of 1 Year from the date of installation”; “It excludes all types of air filters, all plastic and metal parts and remote handset” Voltas’s warranty page does not state one; “1 Year Comprehensive Warranty on the Product” per the Amazon listing (185INV)
Inverter compressor 1 year, then an “Additional Warranty of 9 years”; the badge reads “10 Year Warranty On Inverter Compressor (T&Cs)” 1 year, then “Warranty of 9 years (108Months)”
PCB 1 year, then “PCB Extended Warranty# (PCB EW) of 4 Years”; visit charges payable Not on Voltas’s warranty page; 5 years per the Amazon listings for the 185INV, 125INV and 123INV
Gas and labour after year 1 Not on Blue Star’s warranty page; “Gas charging associated with Compressor/Evaporator/Condenser coil to be paid by customer.” per the Amazon listing “Gas, Labour, Transportation or any other parts shall be borne by the purchaser”

Blue Star counts its terms from “the date of installation”; Voltas’s page does not state when its first year starts. On PCB repairs, Blue Star states: “The consumer will be charged the visit charges as applicable at the time of repair or rectification or replacement under the PCB Extended Warranty.” It also says “Blue Star’s obligation under all types of warranties shall be limited to the repair of part(s) only.”

Two Voltas lines to read carefully. Every Voltas product page we read offers “Standard Installation is FREE with 5 year comprehensive warranty”. That is a voltas.com purchase offer as of 30 September 2026, not a term on Voltas’s warranty page. And Amazon.in’s 123INV and 125INV listings say “10 years warranty on Inverter Compressor with gas charging”, which Voltas’s own page contradicts: gas is the purchaser’s cost after year 1. We follow the maker. See inverter vs non-inverter AC for what the compressor term covers.

Installation rate cards, side by side

Item (all plus GST) Blue Star rate card Voltas
Split AC installation ₹1,500; ₹699 under Blue Star’s “Subsidised Installation Offer on 5 Star^ ACs” “Standard Installation is FREE” on voltas.com purchases; paid price not on Voltas’s pages we read
Site inspection or visit ₹500 ₹500
Extra copper pipe, per foot ₹300 ₹350 (“Including gas charging”)
Outdoor unit stand ₹750 ₹750
Dismantling an old split AC ₹750 ₹500

Blue Star’s rate card applies “only on residential installation carried out by an authorised Blue Star Service Partner”, and its page does not define the caret. Voltas says “Installation of RAC is applicable till 45 days from the date of purchase.” One conflict: Blue Star’s FAQ quotes split installation at “₹1199/- (+ GST)”, against ₹1,500 on the rate card that Blue Star’s service page links as its latest.

Service network and where they are made

Blue Star’s about page claims an “extensive service network across 900+ towns”; that is Blue Star’s statement, and this page has no second source for it. We found no service-network size on Voltas’s about, branch-offices, contact or warranty pages; the about page carries market-share claims instead, which cite no source, so we do not repeat them. Customer care: Blue Star 89 7678 1177; Voltas 1860 599 4555, WhatsApp 9650694555.

Both 1.5 ton 5-star product pages give the country of origin as India.

What we could not verify

  • Voltas 183INV ISEER and annual energy, from any source.
  • Voltas ISEER and energy for the 125INV and 123INV on any Voltas page (Amazon.in only).
  • Voltas rated input, current, refrigerant charge, moisture removal, dimensions, weights and outdoor noise for all four models.
  • Blue Star annual energy and indoor noise on Blue Star’s own pages.
  • Voltas’s PCB term on its warranty page, and Blue Star’s gas-charging terms on its warranty page.
  • A Voltas service-network size, and any brand-specific reliability or lifespan data.

FAQs

Is Blue Star better or Voltas?

Not on published figures alone. Pick by row: Voltas for the higher 1.5 ton 5-star ISEER and free standard installation on voltas.com purchases; Blue Star for the fuller spec sheet, the 54 °C stated ambient on its 5-star models, and the lower maker-store price on both 1 ton pairs, as of 30 September 2026.

Which country made Blue Star AC?

Blue Star’s IA518ZXUS product page lists the country of origin as India, as does Voltas’s 185INV page.

Why is Blue Star AC costly?

On these pairs it mostly was not. On the makers’ stores on 30 September 2026 (rounded), the Blue Star listed lower in three of four pairs: about ₹49,000 against ₹49,500, ₹39,000 against ₹42,000, and ₹33,500 against ₹36,000; the 1.5 ton 3-star was about ₹39,000 against ₹38,000. On Amazon.in, Voltas’s 1.5 ton 5-star was about ₹2,700 lower.

Which is the best brand for AC?

None of the Blue Star or Voltas pages we read publishes brand reliability data, so we name no best brand. Voltas’s warranty page, citing the E-Waste Management rules 2018 guidelines, gives only a general figure: “the average life of an AC (excluding Centralized AC) is 10 years”. Compare models row by row, as in Daikin vs LG AC.


Related reading on HomeVerdicts: 5 star vs 3 star AC · Inverter vs non-inverter AC · Daikin vs LG AC · How we research

Similar Posts