Best Inverter for Home in India (2026)

A home inverter placed on a tall tubular battery in a room corner
Illustration. Generated image, not a photograph of a tested unit.
HomeVerdicts is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. Verdicts are written first; links added after. Our method.

Choosing the best inverter for home starts with one number: how many VA you need, and the makers do not agree on how to work it out. V-Guard’s FAQ uses one rule; its own spec tables and three other makers use another; Okaya contradicts itself. This page sets the rules side by side, then shows where Amazon listings disagree with the makers.

Our set: 16 home inverters on Amazon.in, each rated 3.8★ or higher with at least 50 reviews, ranked by review count within three price segments, at most two per brand per segment. One listing was excluded because we found no maker specifications for it. Where maker and Amazon conflict, the maker wins.

Quick verdicts

3Best mid (₹6,000 to ₹9,000)Microtek SMART HYBRID UPS 1275 (12V) (1125 VA) - maker SKU home inverter

Microtek SMART HYBRID UPS 1275 (12V) (1125 VA) - maker SKU detail viewMicrotek SMART HYBRID UPS 1275 (12V) (1125 VA) - maker SKU detail view

Microtek SMART HYBRID UPS 1275 (12V) (1125 VA) – maker SKU

1125 VAPure sine
VA rating: 1125 VA
Waveform: Pure sine (maker spec "Pure Sine Wave"; brochure "UPS Mode: TRUE SINEWAVE"…
Max load: 900 W
Battery supported: 1 x 12 V: 100-200 Ah; Flat Plate / Tubular / SMF (Amazon also "Tubular, Local & Flate…

Best mid (₹6,000 to ₹9,000): Microtek SMART HYBRID UPS 1275 (12V) (1125 VA) – maker SKU 899-951-1275. Criterion: highest VA of the mid pure sine rows, plus bypass and published changeover.

Best inverter for home: all 16 compared

Model Price* VA Waveform Max load (W) Battery
Luminous Power Sine 800 (700 VA / 12 V) ₹4,900 700 Pure sine 560 12 V, 80 to 220 Ah (maker)
Microtek SUPER POWER UPS 700 (12V) Advanced Digital Wave (600 VA) – maker SKU 899-971-0700 ₹4,500 600 Non-sine 510 12 V, 100 to 200 Ah (Amazon listing)
Luminous Eco Watt Neo 1050 (900 VA / 12 V, square wave) ₹5,700 900 Square wave 756 12 V
Microtek iMERLYN UPS 850 (12V) Advanced Digital Wave (715 VA) – maker SKU 899-981-0850 ₹4,500 715 Non-sine 588 12 V, 100 to 200 Ah (Amazon listing)
Genus Challenger 1100 (825 VA / 12 V) ₹6,000 825 (Amazon listing) Pure sine 660 (Amazon listing) 12 V (Amazon listing)
Okaya ATSW 1175 12V (925 VA) ₹5,800 925 Pure sine 740 12 V
Exide Home Star STAR12V900 (900 VA / 12 V) ₹5,800 900 Pure sine 720 (maker) 12 V
Luminous Zelio+ 1100 (900 VA / 12 V) ₹7,200 900 Pure sine 756 12 V
V-Guard Prime 1150 MiLi (1000 VA / 12 V) ₹6,600 1,000 Pure sine 800 peak 12 V, 80 to 220 Ah
Microtek SMART HYBRID UPS 1275 (12V) (1125 VA) – maker SKU 899-951-1275 ₹7,100 1,125 Pure sine 900 12 V, 100 to 200 Ah (Amazon listing)
V-Guard Smart Pro 1200 (1000 VA / 12 V, Bluetooth IoT) ₹7,300 1,000 Pure sine 800 peak 12 V, 80 to 230 Ah
Luminous Eco Volt Neo 1050 (900 VA / 12 V, pure sine) ₹6,200 900 Pure sine 756 12 V
Microtek HEAVY DUTY UPS 1550-vTURBO 12V Advanced Digital Wave (1250 VA) – maker SKU 899-991-T155 ₹6,500 1,250 Non-sine 1,000 12 V
Luminous iCon 1100 (900 VA / 12 V, built-in battery enclosure) – Amazon model number "Icon White 1100" ₹10,600 900 Pure sine 756 12 V, 150 to 250 Ah tubular (maker)
Luminous Hercules 1500 (1400 VA / 12 V) – Amazon model name "Hercules Sine 1500" ₹10,100 1,400 Pure sine 1,176 12 V, 80 to 250 Ah
Microtek HEAVY DUTY UPS 2350-vTURBO 24V Pure Sine Wave (2000 VA) – maker SKU 899-A41-T235 ₹11,000 2,000 (maker) Pure sine 1,600 24 V

*Amazon price on 1 October 2026, rounded to the nearest ₹100.

Charging, bypass, warranty and ratings, all 16

Model Charging Bypass Warranty Rating (reviews) Sources
Luminous Power Sine 800 (700 VA / 12 V) Not published Not published 36 months 3.9★ (1,080) Maker + Amazon
Microtek SUPER POWER UPS 700 (12V) Advanced Digital Wave (600 VA) – maker SKU 899-971-0700 Not published Not published 3 years 3.9★ (410) Maker + Amazon
Luminous Eco Watt Neo 1050 (900 VA / 12 V, square wave) 17 A (maker catalogue) Not published 36 months 3.9★ (346) Maker + Amazon
Microtek iMERLYN UPS 850 (12V) Advanced Digital Wave (715 VA) – maker SKU 899-981-0850 About 10% of Ah (series brochure) Not published 3 years 3.9★ (167) Maker + Amazon
Genus Challenger 1100 (825 VA / 12 V) Not published Not published Not published 3.8★ (108) Series page + Amazon
Okaya ATSW 1175 12V (925 VA) Not published Not published 36 months 4.2★ (74) Maker + Amazon
Exide Home Star STAR12V900 (900 VA / 12 V) 17 A high, 12 A normal Yes 42 months, see below 4.2★ (63, family unverified) Maker + Amazon
Luminous Zelio+ 1100 (900 VA / 12 V) Not published Yes (maker) 36 months 4.1★ (10,718) Maker + Amazon
V-Guard Prime 1150 MiLi (1000 VA / 12 V) Not published Not published 3 years 4.2★ (1,976, pooled) Maker + Amazon
Microtek SMART HYBRID UPS 1275 (12V) (1125 VA) – maker SKU 899-951-1275 10 A / 14 A (Amazon listing) Yes 3 years 4.0★ (586) Maker + Amazon
V-Guard Smart Pro 1200 (1000 VA / 12 V, Bluetooth IoT) Not published Not published 3 years 4.0★ (540, pooled) Maker + Amazon
Luminous Eco Volt Neo 1050 (900 VA / 12 V, pure sine) 17 A (maker catalogue) Not published 36 months 3.9★ (445) Maker + Amazon
Microtek HEAVY DUTY UPS 1550-vTURBO 12V Advanced Digital Wave (1250 VA) – maker SKU 899-991-T155 10/15/20 A levels (series brochure) Yes (series brochure) 3 years 4.0★ (280) Maker + Amazon
Luminous iCon 1100 (900 VA / 12 V, built-in battery enclosure) – Amazon model number "Icon White 1100" 17 A Not published 36 months 4.2★ (183) Maker + Amazon
Luminous Hercules 1500 (1400 VA / 12 V) – Amazon model name "Hercules Sine 1500" 17 A (Amazon listing) Not published 36 months 4.0★ (173) Maker + Amazon
Microtek HEAVY DUTY UPS 2350-vTURBO 24V Pure Sine Wave (2000 VA) – maker SKU 899-A41-T235 10/15/20 A levels (series brochure) Yes (series brochure) 3 years 4.1★ (59) Maker + Amazon

Reading the cells. “(Amazon listing)”: per the Amazon listing only. “(series brochure)”: per the Microtek series brochure naming the model. “(maker)”: the maker alone. “Not published” is not proof a feature is missing. “Pooled”: count shared with another listing; “family unverified”: siblings not pulled. The Genus sat just below ₹6,000, so it is budget.

How we research this

We read each maker’s model page, and where needed its series brochure or catalogue, beside the Amazon listing. Genus publishes only a series page for the Challenger range. Full method: how we research.

Verdicts: the best inverter for each home

budget <6000

Best budget inverter (up to ₹6,000): Exide Home Star

Best budget inverter (up to ₹6,000): Exide Home Star home inverter

Criterion: of the 7 budget rows, the only one with a maker-stated bypass switch, and the only pure sine one with a maker-stated charging current (17 A ± 1 A high, 12 A ± 1 A normal). 900 VA, 720 W. Changeover: UPS mode ≤10 ms both ways; Normal mode ≤40 ms to back-up, ≤10 ms back. The 42-month warranty has conditions (below). About ₹5,800 on 1 October 2026. 4.2★ from 63 (family unverified).

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 900 VA
Waveform Pure sine
Max load 720 W
Battery supported 12 V nominal (1 battery); Ah range NOT PUBLISHED
Charging current HC 17 A ±1 A / NC 12 A ±1 A; 8 to 10 A at 120 V mains input
UPS / Eco modes UPS mode 180V to 260V ±10 AC / Normal mode 90V to 290V ±10 AC; changeover UPS mode ≤10 ms both directions; Normal mode mains→back-up ≤40 ms, back-up→mains ≤10 ms
Display LED
Bypass switch Yes
Warranty 42 months = 36 months FOC + 6 months on online (digital) registration; the 36 months run from the invoice date or from manufacture date + 3 months, whichever is earlier
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹5,800 (1 Oct 2026)
budget <6000

Best pure sine on a budget: Luminous Power Sine 800

Best pure sine on a budget: Luminous Power Sine 800 home inverter

Criterion: about ₹4,900 on 1 October 2026, the lowest price of the 12 pure sine rows. It is also the smallest pure sine unit: 700 VA, 560 W (the Amazon title says “756 Watts”). Changeover “in under 15 ms”, mode not stated. No charging current or bypass published. 3.9★ from 1,080, the largest budget count.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 700 VA
Waveform Pure sine
Max load 560 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V; 80-220 Ah; Tubular, SMF, Flat Plate and local batteries
Charging current NOT PUBLISHED (maker names "LVFC fast charging" and "Adaptive Battery Charging Control (ABCC)" without an ampere figure)
UPS / Eco modes UPS Mode (180V to 260V) + Eco Mode (no Eco figure)
Display LED indicators (spec table: Digital Display = No)
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 36 months
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹4,900 (1 Oct 2026)
mid 6000-9000

Best mid-range inverter (₹6,000 to ₹9,000): Microtek Smart Hybrid 1275

Best mid-range inverter (₹6,000 to ₹9,000): Microtek Smart Hybrid 1275 home inverter

Criterion: 1,125 VA and 900 W, the highest VA of the 5 mid pure sine rows, with a bypass switch stated by both the series brochure and Amazon, and “≤ 15msec.” UPS changeover per the series brochure. Charging is 10 A or 14 A per the Amazon listing. Amazon’s “760 watt” contradicts Microtek’s 900 W. About ₹7,100 on 1 October 2026. 4.0★ from 586.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 1125 VA
Waveform Pure sine (maker spec "Pure Sine Wave"; brochure "UPS Mode: TRUE SINEWAVE"; maker salient feature "combination of digital & Sinewave Technologies")
Max load 900 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V: 100-200 Ah; Flat Plate / Tubular / SMF (Amazon also "Tubular, Local & Flate Plate")
Charging current Standard 10 A / Fast 14 A. Maker Smart Hybrid brochure confirms a two-level "HIGH & STANDARD CHARGING OPTION" and a "Charging Current Selection" switch, and states "Constant Charging approx. 10% of the rated Battery Current in AH" – no ampere figure
UPS / Eco modes Inverter Mode 80V ~ 290V / UPS Mode 180V ~ 265V (maker PDP; older brochure "Inv. Mode: 90V-300V UPS Mode: 180V-260V")
Display Not published
Bypass switch Yes
Warranty 3 years
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹7,100 (1 Oct 2026)
upper >9000

Best for larger homes and heavier loads: Microtek Heavy Duty 2350 SW

Best for larger homes and heavier loads: Microtek Heavy Duty 2350 SW home inverter

Criterion: 2,000 VA and 1,600 W, the highest of the 16. The only 24 V unit here, so it needs a 24 V battery bank; Microtek’s product page does not state how many batteries. Bypass switch and “≤ 15msec.” UPS changeover per the series brochure. About ₹11,000 on 1 October 2026, the highest price here; 4.1★ from 59, the smallest count.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 2000 VA
Waveform Pure sine
Max load 1600 W
Battery supported 24 V battery system (count NOT PUBLISHED on the PDP); Tubular / SMF / Flat Plate; Ah range NOT PUBLISHED
Charging current selectable 10/15/20 A levels; spec-table rule approx. 10% of battery Ah; no model-level figure
UPS / Eco modes Inverter Mode 80V ~ 290V / UPS Mode 180V ~ 265V
Display LED indications; maker vTurbo brochure (series-level) lists "LED Display" and "LCD Display" versions
Bypass switch Yes – "IN-BUILT BYPASS SWITCH"
Warranty 3 years (inverter only)
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹11,000 (1 Oct 2026)
mid 6000-9000

Honesty slot: V-Guard Prime 1150 MiLi

Honesty slot: V-Guard Prime 1150 MiLi home inverter

4.2★ from 1,976 reviews, pooled: the identical figure sits on the plain Prime 1150 listing in the same five-listing family, so it is not this listing’s own. The specs agree on both sources: 1,000 VA, 800 W peak, pure sine. No charging current, bypass or changeover published. About ₹6,600 on 1 October 2026. Its page carries V-Guard’s 70% sizing FAQ.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 1000 VA
Waveform Pure sine (maker spec "Pure sine wave"; maker bullet "digital sine-wave technology")
Max load 800 W (peak)
Battery supported 1 x 12 V, 80-220 Ah; Flat Plate, Tubular, SMF
Charging current NOT PUBLISHED (Amazon: "Selectable charging modes for flat, tubular, or local batteries")
UPS / Eco modes Normal mode + UPS mode by external switch (maker product-page FAQ, generic); voltage windows NOT PUBLISHED
Display LED
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 3 years
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹6,600 (1 Oct 2026)

The other 11 inverters in our set

budget <6000

Microtek Super Power 700

Microtek Super Power 700 home inverter

The smallest here, 600 VA. Amazon’s field says “Square Wave”; Microtek says “Advanced Digital Wave”. About ₹4,500 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 600 VA
Waveform Advanced Digital Wave
Max load 510 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V: 100-200 Ah, Flat Plate / Tubular / SMF
Charging current NOT PUBLISHED (Amazon: "Constant Continuous Regulated Charging", "Multi Stage Battery Charger" – no ampere figure)
UPS / Eco modes Inverter Mode 80V ~ 290V / UPS Mode 180V ~ 265V
Display LED display (status & fault; backup / charging time)
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 3 years
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹4,500 (1 Oct 2026)
budget <6000

Luminous Eco Watt Neo 1050

Luminous Eco Watt Neo 1050 home inverter

Square wave, 900 VA. See the noise claim below. About ₹5,700 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 900 VA
Waveform Modified / non-sine (maker spec "Square Wave"; maker copy "modified square wave technology")
Max load 756 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V; Ah range NOT PUBLISHED; flat, tubular and local batteries
Charging current 17 A maximum
UPS / Eco modes NOT PUBLISHED (catalogue input range 100V-290V is not labelled by mode)
Display LED indications (spec table: Digital Display = No)
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 36 months
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹5,700 (1 Oct 2026)
budget <6000

Microtek iMERLYN 850

Microtek iMERLYN 850 home inverter

Non-sine, 715 VA. Its Amazon listing carries a “1250VA/12V” bullet from another model. About ₹4,500 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 715 VA
Waveform non-sine
Max load 588 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V: 100-200 Ah, Flat Plate / Tubular / SMF
Charging current No ampere figure. Maker iMERLYN series brochure "Constant Charging approx. 10% of the rated Battery Current in AH" + "HIGH & STANDARD CHARGING OPTION"; Amazon repeats the 10% rule ("Constant Charging Approx 10 percentage of The Rated Battery Current in AH")
UPS / Eco modes Inverter Mode 80V ~ 290V / UPS Mode 180V ~ 265V (maker PDP; older series brochure "Inv. Mode 90V-300V, UPS Mode 180V-260V")
Display LED display (backup / charging time)
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 3 years
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹4,500 (1 Oct 2026)
budget <6000

Genus Challenger 1100

Genus Challenger 1100 home inverter

Pure sine, but VA and watts are per the Amazon listing only; Genus’s load chart for the 1100 prints neither. No warranty published. About ₹6,000 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 825 VA
Waveform Pure sine
Max load 660 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V; Ah range NOT PUBLISHED; maker: Tubular, Lead-Acid or VRLA/SMF
Charging current NOT PUBLISHED (maker "4 Battery Charging Modes"; Amazon "Battery Charging Even at Input Voltage as Low as 110V AC")
UPS / Eco modes NOT PUBLISHED (maker: switchover "takes a fraction of second")
Display Dual LCD + LED
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty Not published
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹6,000 (1 Oct 2026)
budget <6000

Okaya ATSW 1175

Okaya ATSW 1175 home inverter

925 VA, pure sine, changeover “10 milliseconds” (mode not stated). See Okaya’s sizing contradiction below. About ₹5,800 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 925 VA
Waveform Pure sine (maker: "Advanced True Sine Wave")
Max load 740 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V; Ah range NOT PUBLISHED
Charging current NOT PUBLISHED (maker: "Super Intelli Charge Technology: Charges batteries 15% faster" – no ampere figure)
UPS / Eco modes NOT PUBLISHED (no mode windows); maker changeover "10 milliseconds"
Display LED indicators (Mains On, UPS On, SMF Battery, Battery Charging, Overload, Low Battery, Short Circuit/Fault)
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 36 months
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹5,800 (1 Oct 2026)
mid 6000-9000

Luminous Zelio+ 1100

Luminous Zelio+ 1100 home inverter

10,718 reviews, more than five times any other count here, on one standalone listing. Bypass per Luminous only. About ₹7,200 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 900 VA
Waveform Pure sine
Max load 756 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V; Ah range NOT PUBLISHED; Flat Plate, Tubular, VRLA (SMF)
Charging current Not published
UPS / Eco modes UPS Mode (maker: output voltage "regulated between" 180V and 260V) + Eco Mode ("Wider voltage range", no figure)
Display unresolved
Bypass switch Yes
Warranty 36 months
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹7,200 (1 Oct 2026)
mid 6000-9000

V-Guard Smart Pro 1200

V-Guard Smart Pro 1200 home inverter

800 W in the spec table, “780 Watts” in the page copy. Its 540 reviews are pooled with a combo listing. 3 years for units bought on or after 1 April 2025. About ₹7,300 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 1000 VA
Waveform Pure sine
Max load 800 W (peak) – maker-internal CONFLICT: spec table "Max Peak Load 800 W" vs page copy "Maximum Peak Load of 780 Watts"; spec table used
Battery supported 1 x 12 V; 80-230 Ah; lead acid
Charging current NOT PUBLISHED (maker "Comes with a turbo charge mode"; Amazon "turbo charging")
UPS / Eco modes Normal mode + UPS mode by external switch (maker product-page FAQ, generic); app modes (Amazon: "holiday mode, performance settings"); voltage windows NOT PUBLISHED
Display LED; Bluetooth app (maker)
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 3 years (units purchased on or after 1 April 2025)
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹7,300 (1 Oct 2026)
mid 6000-9000

Luminous Eco Volt Neo 1050

Luminous Eco Volt Neo 1050 home inverter

A different model from the Eco Watt Neo: pure sine. Amazon’s “Output Power” field says “200 Watts”; Luminous says 756. About ₹6,200 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 900 VA
Waveform Pure sine
Max load 756 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V; Ah range NOT PUBLISHED; battery types NOT PUBLISHED
Charging current 17 A maximum
UPS / Eco modes NOT PUBLISHED (catalogue input range 85V-290V is not labelled by mode)
Display LED indications (spec table: Digital Display = No)
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 36 months
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹6,200 (1 Oct 2026)
mid 6000-9000

Microtek Heavy Duty 1550 DG

Microtek Heavy Duty 1550 DG home inverter

1,250 VA, the largest non-sine unit here. Bypass per the series brochure. About ₹6,500 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 1250 VA
Waveform Advanced Digital Wave
Max load 1000 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V; Tubular / SMF / Flat Plate; Ah range NOT PUBLISHED
Charging current selectable 10/15/20 A levels; spec-table rule approx. 10% of battery Ah; no model-level figure
UPS / Eco modes Inverter Mode 80V ~ 290V / UPS Mode 180V ~ 265V (maker PDP; older brochure Inv. Mode 90V-300V / UPS Mode 180V-260V)
Display series offered in "LED Display" and "LCD Display" versions; which one this SKU has is NOT STATED (the brochure photo of the "1550, 12V DG" unit shows a front panel of indicator icons; display type not labelled)
Bypass switch Yes – "IN-BUILT BYPASS SWITCH"
Warranty 3 years (inverter only)
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹6,500 (1 Oct 2026)
upper >9000

Luminous iCon 1100

Luminous iCon 1100 home inverter

900 VA in an enclosure that houses the battery. About ₹10,600 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 900 VA
Waveform Pure sine
Max load 756 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V in a built-in enclosure; 150-250 Ah tubular
Charging current 17 A (charging starts at 95 V)
UPS / Eco modes NOT PUBLISHED (catalogue input range 85V-290V is not labelled by mode)
Display LED indicators (spec table: Digital Display = No)
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 36 months
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹10,600 (1 Oct 2026)
upper >9000

Luminous Hercules 1500

Luminous Hercules 1500 home inverter

1,400 VA, the highest of the 12 V units. Changeover “<15 ms”, mode not stated. About ₹10,100 on 1 October 2026.

Full specifications and data sources
VA rating 1400 VA
Waveform Pure sine
Max load 1176 W
Battery supported 1 x 12 V, 80-250 Ah (Amazon adds flat plate, tubular, SMF)
Charging current 17 A, "even at low input voltage (90V)"
UPS / Eco modes UPS & Eco modes (voltage windows NOT PUBLISHED)
Display LED indicators (spec table: Digital Display = No)
Bypass switch Not published
Warranty 36 months
Amazon price (rounded) About ₹10,100 (1 Oct 2026)

How to choose the best inverter for your home

Sizing: two rules from the makers

Rule 1, 70% (V-Guard’s FAQ). An example load of about 420 W “can be safely supported by a 600 Volt-Ampere (VA) Home UPS which is the very next size of inverter (i.e. 70 % of the Given VA).” Worked example: 600 VA × 0.7 = 420 W.

Rule 2, 0.8 (Okaya, Microtek, Luminous, and V-Guard’s own spec tables). Okaya: “add up the wattage of all essential appliances and divide by 0.8 (the standard power factor).” Luminous’s worked example: “400 watts ÷ 0.8 = 500 VA”. V-Guard’s spec tables pair 1,000 VA with 800 W peak.

Same load, both rules (our arithmetic). 420 W needs 600 VA under V-Guard’s FAQ but 525 VA under 0.8. Luminous also warns: “do not treat 0.8 as a fixed value for every setup”.

Okaya contradicts itself. The ATSW 1175 page calls it “suited for small 1BHK to 2BHK homes”; Okaya’s home UPS page puts it “for 1BHK homes with lights and fans.” Okaya’s FAQ sets 1BHK at 700 to 900 VA, yet names the 925 VA ATSW 1175. The ATSW 1175 page lists a refrigerator among its loads, while its own FAQ says “The ATSW 1400 12V (1150 VA/920W) is the next step for households wanting to add a refrigerator or mixer to the mix.”

Waveform: 12 pure sine, 4 not

Of the 16 inverters in our 1 October 2026 set, 12 are pure sine (maker-stated); 4 are not. Luminous’s Eco Watt Neo 1050 page promises “Silent Operation” and “No noise, easy LED indications.” Luminous’s own blog says a ceiling fan on square wave backup gives “a loud, irritating humming sound”, and its buying guide says such units “can damage delicate electronic items like Wi-Fi routers, laptops, and smart TVs.” Microtek’s Super Power 700 page says “Advanced Digital Wave output protects sensitive electronics”. These are maker claims; we read no independent test. More: sine wave vs square wave inverter.

Charging: Microtek’s brochure says two things

The Heavy Duty vTurbo series brochure, naming the HD 1550 DG and HD 2350 SW, states both “Constant Charging approx. 10% of the rated Battery Current in AH” and “Variable Turbo Charging Levels 20A, 15A & 10A” (10 A for low, 20 A for long power-cut areas). One is a rule tied to battery size; the other, selectable levels tied to power cuts. A maker states amperes for 6 of the 16; Amazon alone for 2; nobody for 8. Charging trouble: inverter not charging.

Warranty, as written

14 of the 16 carry 36 months or 3 years from the maker (Microtek’s Heavy Duty units say “Inverter Only”). We found no Genus warranty term. Exide’s page heads its term “42 Months Warranty * ( FOC )”, but its footnote reads “*36 Month FOC+ 6 Month Digital Warranty”. Exide’s terms add:

  • the 36 months run “from (a) the date of invoice or (b) from the date of manufacturing plus 3 months whichever occurs earlier”;
  • the extra 6 months need an online sales registration;
  • “LCD, Plastic and Rubber parts are not covered under this warranty.”;
  • service for a blown thermal circuit breaker is “a paid service.”

What Amazon gets wrong

Model Amazon listing says Maker says (wins)
Luminous Power Sine 800 “756 Watts” 560 W
Microtek Super Power 700 “Square Wave”; “2 Year Warranty” Advanced Digital Wave; 3 years
Microtek iMERLYN 850 “700VA” and “1250VA”; “Pure Sine Wave” 715 VA; non-sine
Microtek Smart Hybrid 1275 “760 watt” 900 W
Microtek Heavy Duty 2350 SW “1800 Watts” 1,600 W
Luminous Eco Volt Neo 1050 “200 Watts”; “2 Years” 756 W; 36 months

On 7 of the 16 listings (5 Luminous, 2 Microtek), some Amazon warranty text is shorter than the maker’s; on 6 of them, other text on the same listing matches the maker.

Who should NOT buy these inverters

  • Anyone running sensitive electronics on a non-sine model. The makers disagree about the risk; the 12 pure sine rows avoid the question.
  • Anyone who needs a published changeover time. For 8 of the 16 we found none: Super Power 700 (we did not read its series brochure), Eco Watt Neo 1050, Eco Volt Neo 1050, Zelio+ 1100, iCon 1100, both V-Guards and the Genus. Background: difference between UPS and inverter.
  • Anyone who needs a confirmed bypass switch. A maker states one for 5 of the 16.
  • Anyone planning to run an air conditioner. None of the 16 product pages lists one, and Luminous’s blog says “Standard home inverters under 1100 VA cannot support an air conditioner.”

What we could not verify

We found no THD figure on any maker page for the 16. We found a maker Ah range for only 5. We hold no failure-rate or service data for any brand, and read no independent test of square wave effects.

FAQs

What is the best size inverter for a house?

Add up the watts you will run, then apply a named rule. Under 0.8 (Okaya, Microtek, Luminous), 400 W needs 500 VA. Under V-Guard’s 70% FAQ, 420 W needs 600 VA.

Which inverter is best for a 2bhk home?

The makers disagree. Okaya’s FAQ says 1,400 to 1,900 VA for 2BHK, its home UPS page names a 1,150 VA model, and its ATSW 1175 page calls the 925 VA ATSW 1175 suitable for small 1BHK to 2BHK homes. Luminous’s blog: “A 2 BHK home, for example, does not automatically require a particular inverter size.”

Which brand of inverter is the best?

No maker or neutral source we read ranks brands, and we hold no reliability data. On published facts, the Exide Star is the only row in our set with a changeover time for each mode. See Microtek vs Luminous inverter.

Which is better, Exide or Luminous?

Take the Exide Star and the budget Luminous Power Sine 800. Exide: 900 VA, 720 W, published charging current and bypass, 42 months with conditions, about ₹5,800. Luminous: 700 VA, 560 W, neither published, 36 months, about ₹4,900. Prices on 1 October 2026.

Conclusion

Budget: Exide Star. Lowest-priced pure sine in our set: Luminous Power Sine 800. Mid: Microtek Smart Hybrid 1275. Heavier loads: Microtek Heavy Duty 2350 SW. Size with a named rule.



Similar Posts