Air Fryer vs OTG: Which Should You Actually Buy?

By Samiya

Disclosure: HomeVerdicts aggregates published manufacturer specifications, regulator publications and published retail listings. We do not test products. Some links on HomeVerdicts are affiliate links, and if you buy through one we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. The products shown are examples of each type, not a recommendation of one over the other. Our method is published at how we research.
VS

Prices and ratings in the boxes above are Amazon selling prices read on 8 Nov 2026, rounded to the nearest ₹100. Products are the most-rated ones of each type that we found, shown as examples, not a ranking. Prices quoted in the text below are from the dates given beside them and may differ from today’s Amazon price.


This air fryer vs OTG comparison starts with whether an OTG can air fry at all, then prices the difference per batch in rupees, then reads the oil claims at their exact wording.

The short answer: who should buy which

Choose an air fryer if you cook small batches of crisp food and want the shortest runtime. The basket models we read in September 2026 run 2.5 L to 6.5 L, and Glen publishes 15 minutes for French fries against 25 to 30 in an OTG.

Choose a plain OTG if you bake or cook for more people in one round. The OTGs we read start at 9 L, and Crompton writes that “an OTG remains better for extensive baking and grilling”.

Want both in one box? Buy an OTG whose maker lists a fan and an air-fry mode. Its price band starts higher than a plain OTG’s (see below).

Can I use my OTG as an air fryer?

Only if its maker lists an air-fry mode. Three manufacturers explain the difference the same way, and it is the fan. Wonderchef: “An air fryer uses a heating element and a powerful fan to circulate hot air at high speed”, while “An OTG uses top and bottom heating elements (radiant heat)”. Glen describes OTG coils at the top and bottom and adds that “Some models add a convection fan”. Solara: “An air fryer oven adds a powerful fan that circulates hot air at high speed”.

The OTGs we read on 30 September 2026 that are sold with an air-fry function each list a fan, convection or a basket:

  • Prestige POTG 28RC (28 L, 1500 W): “convection for perfect browning”, with air fry in the product name.
  • Prestige POTG 36 SS RC (36 L, 1500 W): “Rotisserie, Convection, and Air Fryer Functions”.
  • Morphy Richards 29RCAD (2000 W, litres not stated): “Convection & Rotisserie”, “In-built Air Fryer”, and an “Air Fryer Basket” in the box.
  • Morphy Richards AirCrisp 25L (1550 W): “360 degree Air Circulation”, “In Built Air Fryer” and a “Wire Basket”.

The plain OTGs in that 30 September set list no fan and claim no air-fry function: the Havells OTG 16 L and Bake Smart 28 L (both “Heat: Top and bottom”), the Prestige POTG 9 PC and POTG 19 PCR, the Morphy Richards 20R, the Agaro Marvel 9L and the Bajaj 1603 16L.

A fan alone is not the whole answer either. Agaro’s Marvel 48L lists convection and rotisserie, and its page, read in September 2026, does not claim air fry. No manufacturer page we read says a fan-less OTG can air fry, or that a convection OTG without a labelled air-fry mode performs like an air fryer. So the honest answer is conditional: check your OTG’s product page or manual for an air-fry mode. If it lists only top and bottom heat, nothing we read supports using it as one.

Glen also describes a hybrid, an “air fryer oven (25 litres, 1800W) that combines air frying and OTG functions”.

Air fryer vs OTG, side by side

Manufacturer figures, read on 13 and 30 September 2026.

Air fryer OTG
How it heats Element plus a fan (Wonderchef, Glen, Solara) Top and bottom elements; “Some models add a convection fan” (Glen)
Capacity, models read in September 2026 Basket 2.5 L to 6.5 L; oven-style 12 L (Agaro Regency) and 15 L (Havells Air Oven Avanza) 9 L to 52 L. Wonderchef states “OTGs from 9L to 60L”
Rated power 1200 W to 1800 W 800 W to 2000 W; air-fry OTGs 1500 W to 2000 W
Temperature 200 °C ceiling where published; 80 °C floor (Prestige, Agaro) Havells 90 °C to 230 °C; Agaro Marvel 9L 100 °C to 250 °C
Preheat Glen: “Most air fryers need no preheating”, though its table says 2 to 3 min; Wonderchef: 3 to 5 min 10 to 15 min (Wonderchef, Glen)
French fries, Glen’s published time 15 min 25 to 30 min
kWh per fries batch at 1500 W, upper bound 0.375 to 0.450 0.875 to 1.125
Air fry Yes Only on models whose maker lists it

Air fryer vs OTG running cost, per batch in rupees

No manufacturer page we read publishes a measured kWh figure per cook for any air fryer or OTG. So this table is arithmetic on published inputs: rated watts multiplied by time. That makes every cell an upper bound, because, in Glen’s words, “A thermostat cycles the coils to maintain the set temperature.”

The inputs: one batch of French fries at Glen’s published times, and the same 1500 W rating on both sides. Air fryers rated 1500 W include the Philips NA120/00, Havells Prolife Neo and Morphy Richards 5L Classic; OTGs rated 1500 W include the Havells Bake Smart 28 L and Prestige POTG 28RC. The OTG rows add a 10 to 15 minute preheat to the 25 to 30 minute cook. The tariff is Maharashtra’s MSEDCL residential rate for FY2026-27, effective 1 April 2026, variable charge per kWh by monthly slab.

Case kWh ₹5.56 (1 to 100 units) ₹12.40 (101 to 300) ₹16.64 (301 to 500) ₹19.13 (above 500)
Air fryer, 15 min, no preheat 0.375 ₹2.09 ₹4.65 ₹6.24 ₹7.17
Air fryer, 15 min plus 3-min preheat (Wonderchef) 0.450 ₹2.50 ₹5.58 ₹7.49 ₹8.61
OTG, 35 min including preheat 0.875 ₹4.87 ₹10.85 ₹14.56 ₹16.74
OTG, 45 min including preheat 1.125 ₹6.26 ₹13.95 ₹18.72 ₹21.52

Both air-fryer rows are shown because preheat guidance varies: Glen says “Most air fryers need no preheating” and, in its comparison table, gives 2 to 3 minutes, while Wonderchef says preheating “takes only 3 minutes” and, on the same page, “3-5 minutes”.

How to read it. The slab applies to your household’s whole monthly consumption, so your rate depends on everything else in the house, not on the appliance. These are Maharashtra’s rates only.

The gap is runtime, not wattage. Both machines are rated 1500 W here. The OTG’s figure is 2.3 to 3 times the no-preheat air-fryer row because it runs longer, with a preheat on top.

Per batch is not per serving. An OTG can do in one round what takes an air fryer several. Wonderchef makes the point for cake: “For baking a full cake, the OTG’s larger capacity means you bake everything in one round, which may be more efficient than multiple air fryer batches.”

Philips’ own energy claim, “up to 70% less energy and up to 50% faster than a traditional oven”, is footnoted against “an A class oven”, not an Indian OTG.

The oil claims, read at their actual wording

Maker and model Exact wording Compared against What it measures
Philips HD9252/90 “up to 90% less fat!*” “Compared to fresh fries prepared in a Philips conventional fryer” Fat in the food
Philips NA120/00, NA231/00 “up to 90% less fat*” “Compared to homemade fries cooked in a conventional deep fat fryer.” Fat in the food
Prestige PAF 4.0 “Up to 80% Less Oil Usage” Not stated Oil used
Prestige Nutrifry Digital “up to 80% less oil” Not stated Oil used
Agaro Galaxy “evenly cooks the food with 90% less oil” Not stated Oil used
Havells Prolife Aero “Healthy Oil-Free Cooking” (page title) Not stated No figure

Of the product-page claims in this table, only Philips states what it is compared against, and Philips claims less fat in the finished food, not less oil used. Those are different claims. A cut in the fat your fries end up carrying and a cut in the oil you pour in are not interchangeable, and none of these pages lets you convert one into the other. Prestige’s 80% and Agaro’s 90% name no baseline at all.

None of the claims in the table is made against an OTG. The OTG side is no clearer: Crompton writes that “OTGs require the use of oil for cooking”, Glen that “An OTG uses standard recipe amounts of oil or butter”, and Prestige’s own OTG copy advertises “oil free roti’s”. All of it is marketing copy, and we present every percentage here as that brand’s claim, not as a measured fact.

Ready to see today’s prices?Prices change daily. Both options, one tap each.

Which is healthier, an OTG or an air fryer?

We found no manufacturer or regulator, in the sources we read, that compares the two on health. Here is what regulators do publish.

Acrylamide forms in starchy food during high-temperature cooking. The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) puts it “at +120°C and low moisture”; the UK Food Standards Agency says “above 120°C”. The air fryers that publish a ceiling stop at 200 °C, and the OTGs that publish one reach 230 °C to 250 °C, so both can run above that threshold.

EFSA’s page reports: “Tests by industry and consumer organisations indicate hot-air fryers generally produce 30-40% more acrylamide than conventional deep oil fryers.” The same passage carries EFSA’s caveat: “it is important to note that EFSA has not evaluated the validity of these findings.” That comparison is against deep fryers. No source we read quantifies acrylamide from OTG cooking.

The UK FSA’s advice applies to either machine: “aim for a golden yellow colour or lighter when frying, baking, toasting or roasting starchy foods”.

What each one can’t do

These are manufacturer statements, labelled as such.

Air fryer. Agaro: “Limited Capacity: Most air fryers have a small capacity and can only cook small batches”, and “Not Ideal for Certain Foods: Air fryers are not ideal for foods that are already crispy or that need to be coated in batter or breadcrumbs.” Crompton: “Can an air fryer replace an OTG? Not completely … an OTG remains better for extensive baking and grilling.” Glen, on cake: “air fryer limited by basket size”.

OTG. A 10 to 15 minute preheat (Wonderchef, Glen), longer cook times in Glen’s published figures, and no air frying on the plain models we read.

Price bands, as of 30 September 2026

From manufacturer storefronts, not Amazon:

  • Basket air fryers: ₹3,995 to ₹15,999. The oven-style Havells Air Oven Avanza (15 L) was about ₹13,100 on 30 September 2026.
  • Plain OTGs: ₹2,099 to ₹8,999.
  • OTGs with convection and air fry: ₹8,045 to ₹19,999.

The top of each band is a Morphy Richards listing on bajajelectricals.com that was backordered or sold out on 30 September 2026, so those are list prices on stock you could not buy that day. Philips publishes no price on philips.co.in. If your budget is tight, we cover the best air fryer under ₹5,000 separately.

What we could not verify

  • A measured kWh per cook for any air fryer or OTG. The running-cost table is rated wattage multiplied by published time.
  • Any test or baseline behind the Prestige 80% and Agaro 90% oil claims.
  • An acrylamide figure for OTG cooking, or any published health comparison between the two.
  • Inalsa figures: its site returned no product data we could read.
  • Temperature ranges for several models, including the Prestige OTGs.

Buying a New OTG Oven? Start Here

The full comparison is in Best OTG Oven in India (2026): 13 Models Compared, the HomeVerdicts guide to OTG ovens. These are the first two products in that guide; the guide compares all of them.

Amazon India prices on 31 October 2026, rounded to the nearest ₹100 (prices change often). As an Amazon Associate, HomeVerdicts earns from qualifying purchases made through these links.

Glen SA5035BLRC 35L OTG
35 litre capacity, 2100 W

Check price at AmazonAbout ₹7,000 (31 Oct 2026)

AGARO Marvel 9L OTG (item no. 33266)
9 litre capacity, 800 W

Check price at AmazonAbout ₹1,700 (31 Oct 2026)

Frequently asked questions

Can I use my OTG as an air fryer?

Only if its maker lists an air-fry mode. See the section above.

Should I buy an air fryer or an oven?

Small crisp batches and short runtime point to an air fryer; baking and big batches point to an OTG. For a microwave instead, see air fryer vs microwave, and for oven types, the difference between an OTG and an oven.

What is a disadvantage of an air fryer?

Capacity. Agaro says most “can only cook small batches”.

Which is better for health, OTG or air fryer?

We found no published comparison. Both can run above the 120 °C acrylamide threshold.

Similar Posts